Where is the Character Today?

Everyone in my family, and I mean everyone, parents, aunts and uncles, brother and sister, call me an old fuddy duddy because I don’t like fun or am too serious.  I am 44 years old.  When my grandfather was 44 his kids were all out of the house.  I cannot imagine him acting like some of my friends do or like some 50 year olds I know.  There is a crisis of character in the US.  45 year olds don’t want to be adults, they want to be cool.  It is like they are back in HS and don’t want to be made fun of for being serious.

No one wants to be the adult anymore.  No one wants to call out others who are acting ridiculously.  I think back to when Bill Clinton was running for president.  Someone asked him if he wore boxers or briefs.  Can you imagine Ronald Reagan answering that question.  I don’t want leaders to be cool I want them to be respected.

What has happened to our society today.

By way of Cultural Offering, here is a link to an article by Peggy Noonan in the Wall Street Journal.  I think it hits the points very strongly.

 

 

Let me know what you think

