Hot Day, Fast Run

I was driving home from work last night and looked at the thermometer in my car.  It read 94 degrees.  I thought to myself do I really want to run tonight.  On top of that I went out to lunch with my boss and ate a lot, forgetting that I was going to run after work.  So my lunch was still sitting in my stomach when I got home.  If I wasn’t meeting one of my friends to run I would probably have said no and not ran.  But when training with someone it is much harder to skip a workout.  I called my buddy and suggested we run later, but do to our busy schedules this was the most convenient time to run. 

So at 5 pm with the tempurture hovering around 90 degrees we took off for a 7 mile run.  After running a mile we decided to make it only a 6 mile run.  It was really hot.  Luckily there were some people watering their lawns, so without any trepidation we just walked into their front yards and played in their sprinklers for a minute or so to cool off.

We were doing pretty well considering the heat.  Much of the route was in the shade and there was a slight breeze.  We got to about 4 and a half miles and ran out of shade.  We were running through the small business district and it is all pavement and concrete.  We were running right into the sun so there wasn’t even shade from the buildings.  On top of that the street was packed with cars.  The blazing sun combined with the pavement and cars had to bring the temperature close to 100.  We picked up the pace to get to the next section that was all shade. 

We hit the shade with about a mile to go and all I could think about was getting home to hit the sprinkler and have an ice cold gatorade.  My buddy picked up the pace and we were running fairly fast for us, about a 7:50 mile pace.  We hit the 6 mile mark on the garmins and stopped.  We were dead.  It was so hot our clothes were dry.  The water and sweat had evaporated.

We got back to my house and hit the sprinkler.  I walked into the house to grab a couple of gatorades and find out my boys drank the rest of it during the day.  What a let down.

It was a good run.  We pushed eachother when we probably would have stopped or slowed down if running on our own.  We did the 6 miles in 52 minutes.  Another training session down.  Adding an extra day of running to the training beginning tomorrow.  4 on Saturday and 12 on Sunday.  Let’s hope it isn’t as hot the next two days.

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think

