Running again

I have finally been able to put together a good string of runs.  Starting back in January I began running again.   It was painful to say the least.  It started on the treadmill at the gym.  Run for a minute walk for 3 or 4 over about 45 minutes.  Eventually I got up to 3.5 miles on the treadmill.  My plantar faciatis dictated taking it really slow.  There were times that I had to stop and stretch in the middle of the workout, but I didn’t care.  I just wanted to run.

About 3 weeks ago the weather worked out and I finally was able to go outside.  I ran 5 miles for the first time since my last run back in July.  The foot was a little sore but I stretched really well after the run and again the next morning.  My pace was pretty good about 9:45.  It was a really amazing feeling.

The purpose of the training was to run the Buffalo Shamrock run.  I was nervous that I would push to hard or the bridges would bring on some serious pain.  But that never happened.  With the crowd and the race atmosphere I was at a 9:10 pace and tried to slow down.  But I realized that the legs felt good and I should just keep going.  I came around the corner towards the finish line and picked up the pace a little.  That is when I felt a twinge in my foot and thought okay don’t push it.  Finished with a time of 46:03 for 5 miles.  I was ecstatic.

Since then I have continued running outside.  Doing 5.1 every time.  Foot feels good.  Still a little sore but I continue stretching and doing the necessary exercises.  It was 65 here today and the outside run was awesome.  I really missed it.  I can’t wait for Florida.

Let me know what you think

