Those Screaming Coaches

I have a confession to make.  I am a screaming coach.  I yell.  In a group I have that coaches voice that everyone hears and stops to see what is going on.  On the rink it is a different story.  For some reason my voice doesn’t carry.  But I digress.

At the beginning of every season the kids I don’t know give me worried looks.  I always tell them I am yelling so that you can hear me.  But really I am yelling because I am excited.  I want the kids to perform.   I want them to make the right plays.  I want them to succeed.  I am exhausted after games and practices.  I have fun.  I get into it.

Today I found an essay by a parent who likes the old school screaming coaches.  I must say I am old school.  I am not a touchy feely kind of coach.  I have coached with a lot of those types of coaches and I always end up being the mean coach.  Not a good position to be in especially when you are an assistant.

Anyway here is the link to this essay.

Let me know what you think

