Early Morning Runs

I am starting back in to my running.  I need it.  I have been away from it for too long.  After golfing Sunday I had planned on going for a run.  One thing led to another and it was 8 and I still hadn’t gone running.  I was just sitting in front of the TV and felt like crap.  In the back of my mind I heard my golfing buddy talking about his trail run the previous day.  God I hadn’t done one of those since last summer when I hurt my foot.  At that moment I became determined to get back into my running schedule and get back on the trails.  So it started on Sunday.

When I was younger I hated mornings.  My girlfriend’s father would get up at 6 am and leave for work by 6:30.  I thought to myself how does he do that?  I could never do that.  Now that I am older I can’t sleep past 5 am.  So back to my summer routine of early morning runs.  Starting out at 4 miles and will work on that for two weeks.  The plan after that is to go up to 5 miles every other day and throw in 1 or 2 days of trail running.

Early morning runs are great.  Today the weather was perfect.  Not a cloud in the sky and the moon was out as the sun was coming up.  The smell of the morning dew on the grass. People driving by me leaving for work.  Head phones in with some good running music of all types – rock, pop, country and old 80’s tunes that bring me back to high school and college.  The music was at a level that I could still hear the birds.

I can’t think of a better way to start the day.

Let me know what you think

